Newbie Looking For Insight

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by stizostedion_vitreum, Sep 21, 2004.

1. stizostedion_vitreum

stizostedion_vitreum LawnSite Member
    from ND

Hello everyone and thanks for all the valuable information i've been able to acquire from each of you!

First off, I'm a full time manager of a couple large retail businesses in ND and I also work a part-time (21 hrs/week) evening job at nights. I work 70-75 hours weekly currently.

I have always wanted to start a business on my own and have decided to start a "Property Care" business. This all happened rather fast due to stumbling upon a nice annual contract that payed pretty well. I will be working my current occupations alongside the new business. I plan to do all the marketing/managing and my wife will handle the supervision/labor for the first year. We will eventually turn the business over to our 3 sons which are fourteen and younger. All of the labor for the first year will be handled by family and friends.

First year marketing will be residential/commercial from 1/4 acre up to 3 acre properties. We plan to provide mowing, weedeating, trimming, edging, cleanups, fertilizing, hauling, thatching, aerating & snow removal.

Currently, we have: 96' 1/2 ton 4x4, 21hp AYP product tractor w/bagger, 6.5 Honda push mower, weedeater, elect. edger and trimmer. We also have all the hand tools such as rakes, wheel barrow, etc.... that we should need.

Our intentions are to grow the business and add services/employees as time/money allows. However, for the first year I would like your insights as to what additional equipment we should need to make a decent go of it, out of the gate.

If you had $8,000 of startup capital to spend....how would you use it to add to what I've listed?

My immediate thoughts are to add the following:
    1. Trailer at least 12' in lengh x 6'