Newbie to Fert. Liquid or Granular???/

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by JShe8918, Mar 6, 2008.

1. JShe8918

JShe8918 LawnSite Senior Member

Hey my name is Jonathan Sheehan and this is my first year to have a fert program for some of my clients. I have been doing my yard for about 4 years but that is a bit different. The more i look into fertilizer the more i realize how much more money is to be made spraying chemicals. Yes i am working on getting my liscense for chem application. I have been looking at spreaders and boom sprayers alike. A good push stainless broadcast spreader will run almost 300 dollars. A Fimco 7 boom sprayer with 25 gallon tank is only 400 dollars. Which is the way to go. I need your opinion. I need reasons not just cause i said so stuff. Around this area people aren't afraid to spend money and there is no one in my area who offers fertilization .... Thanks in advance...

2. rcreech

rcreech Sponsor
    Male, from OHIO

You are correct that there is some money to be made on this side...but that comes with some risk.

Your costs will be much higher and also you had better know what you are doing.

One little mistake can take ALOT of profit if you don't know what you are doing!

Learn, Learn Learn before you ever start. There is alot more to it then most think!

Good Luck!

3. JShe8918

first u must know the type of grass, the squarefootage, and then you must calibrate your machine. Got to do it at the right time. Still there is a lot to learn about the different types of liquid fertilizer. That is why i am here

4. hmartin

hmartin LawnSite Senior Member

You will eventually need the spreader and the sprayer. Most of your equipment buying decisions will depend on what size accounts that you are dealing with. The 7 foot boom is perfect for running across two arcres, but almost worthless on a tiny front lawn. I am assumning that you are wanting to use your four-wheeler to carry the 25 gallon sprayer.