newbie to Landscaping -please help

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Marek13, May 16, 2007.

1. Marek13

Marek13 LawnSite Member

Hi guys,
    This might be the dumbest question you'll get but ... here it goes.
    how are you disposing the clippings-I've been doing part time landscaping for 8 years and kept steady 30 accts (that’s all I needed) but recently word of clients spread and now I am close to 50 acct. believe or not all my 30 clients had grass bins set up for me so I just disposed grass and they had it taken by town-few others I just collected them and put them out in front of my house and town would take it too. But now I have 10 decent lots and they need to have their grass disposed –At first I wanted to pass, but they are friend or family of my clients and they willing to pay top $ for the cut.
    How does it work do you have to have a permit with Town to dispose clippings and what’s the average rate. I am in NJ (Springfield/Livingstone area) anyone care to drop some Advised I would appreciate
    Thanks Mark

2. charmill26

charmill26 LawnSite Senior Member

im not sure how it works where you are but here i think we take them to the dump? i only bag 1 or 2 lawns a week so i just put them out and the city takes them for free. if you know someone out in the country ask them if you can dump them out there?

3. MacLawns

MacLawns LawnSite Member

That's why I only mulch the clippings.

If anyone is interested, i use raptor blades. made by stens

4. Marek13

Marek13 LawnSite Member

Thanks for the info. Any one else cares to drop in. Any Guys in NJ that collect and dispose-what do your do with your clippings?
    Thanks
    Mark

5. paul vroom

paul vroom LawnSite Senior Member

I hate bagging but when I have to I came up with a great idea, I just hope my wife does not read this............flush them down the toilet :weightlifter:

6. so cal Josh

so cal Josh LawnSite Member
    from So Cal

Maclawns: