Newbie Website Idea

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by hilltopgrounds, Oct 9, 2005.

1. hilltopgrounds

hilltopgrounds LawnSite Member

Hey guys. I am just starting out and I have an idea but am not sure if the cost of it would outwiegh the benifits. I want to get a website that my prospective clients could goto that had examples of my work, explain my services, request a quote, e-mail me, and that my current clients could log into and see when thier lawns were cut, when they are schedualed to be cut again, when last payment was recived, etc... What do you guys think?
  2. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

I have thought about something similar for a while, then I look at competitors websites and see them out of date, or their latest referral letter was 5 years ago or you can't get there, something is down. Before you make the leap ask yourself do you check on line to see when you paid your bills or when they are coming to pick up your trash? I don't want to shoot you down but people are very busy they hire us to make their life simple to provide them more time. It might be nice to have with a gallery of pictures and maybe some addresses for prospective clients to drive by and check out your work. If you are not diligent keeping it current then it becomes a negative not a positive. It's like a dog everyone loves the puppy and wants to play with it but a few years down the line its a crap machine that you have to feed. I am going to completely stay away from the costs because the ranges I have heard are so far apart I don't believe any of it. I prefer a newsletter that I control who sees it. Their are some A**es in the industry locally and the less they know about me and my clients and business the better. I am curious to know what you decide and costs etc. Good thread
  3. hilltopgrounds

hilltopgrounds LawnSite Member