Next Year No More Solo

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by echeandia, Jul 18, 2007.

1. echeandia

echeandia LawnSite Bronze Member

Well, I decided that next year I will be hiring someone to help me out. This is my first year as an LCO and really love doing this kind of work but it is time for a change. There are several advantages to do this. First, I won't have to do all of the work myself. Right now I am exhausted and a helper will make things much easier on me. Secondly, I can lower my prices, pick up more customers, but make more money. With a helper I should be able to increase productivity by at lease 50%. Thirdly, I can begin training someone to be a crew lead. This will allow me to eventually spend more time developing business and doing design work (I am getting a degree in Landscape Design). Are any of you other solo operators feeling the same way?

2. howardsells2000

howardsells2000 LawnSite Senior Member

It is nice having a helper. I have been back and forth this season with and with out a helper. Let me share a few things with you. You won't be 50% quicker. You will be faster but probably not 50%. You will not be able to lower your prices. You will probably need to increase them. You will have to pay workers comp, taxes, uniforms and his salary. As far as training someone good luck. In my experiences you will be lucky if they even show up, let alone stay long enough to train. Plus while you train your new employees you will be working slower and holding you breath that he doesn't damage your equipment, the customers property or injure himself or someone else. It's scary watching someone using your equipment.

I think the only way you can grow your company is with employees but it's not as easy as you might think.

Good Luck

3. TNT LawnCare Inc.

TNT LawnCare Inc. LawnSite Bronze Member