1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

No appreaciation...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by craigs lawncare, Apr 11, 2004.

1. craigs lawncare

craigs lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

Any one ever have this happen to them.

About three weeks ago I dropped four of my lawns because I had the opportunity to pick up several more accounts close to my home. These four lawns were good quality jobs that grossed slightly over and slightly under a dollar a minute each. Three of the four were lawns I had been mowing for nine years. The other lawn, I had mowed for three. Great customers. Never complained.
    Rather than just turn them away, I asked my customers if they wanted me to recommend anyone to them. They all said yes. Earlier in the week at the local mower dealership, I remembered hearing someone say they knew of a new company that was looking for lawns and wondered if anyone knew of any potential customers. They said he was a younger gentleman who had just purchased a new Z that was mowing and putting him-self through collage and was paying for the new machine at the same time.
    Well, to make a long story short, I tracked him down and called him. I gave him all four accounts, told him I had set it up that all four props were awaiting his call and he should call them right away. I even offered to meet with him and introduce him to my old customers.
    He did say thanks on the phone... I will give him credit for that.

Maybe I am wrong for thinking this, but had someone called me up out of the blue in his situation and dropped four profitable lawns on my lap five or six weeks before the start of the season, I would have at least had the courtesy to meet with them face to face and and buy them dinner.