No license required weed killer, Any such thing?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by mojob, Jul 12, 2008.

1. mojob

mojob LawnSite Senior Member

I have a spray guy that does my commercial property and a lot of my residential accounts, but this guy is busy and can't drop what he's doing just to spray a few weeds growing in the cracks of sidewalks and rock beds. Is there any safe, no license required homebrew mix I can use in this situation?
  2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Most state laws are written in such a way that the act of killing weeds requires a license not the chemical used. But I am not a Lawyer or do I know your State laws. It seems to me there is a lot of Unlicensed Weed kill going on by Mowing guys. IMHO you have to spray the weeds if you want to be competitive in the mowing business. I know of a few unlicensed guys with the sprayer hidden behind the drivers sit. Not the proper thing for me to say, But do what you have to if the license is to much a hassle. Just don't move up to other types of Application. BTW Ag inspectors don't work week-ends. OK I know I am Bad for giving this advice.
  3. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

4. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

It is not like half the Mower guys aren't already doing it. We can't do all the weed spraying, there are way too many weeds. I turn my back now when I see Mack the Mowerman pull out his pump sprayer. My State even has a Roundup license that is very easy to get and I even taught the 6 hour CEU class for that License at one time. Sorry but it is not my job to stop all criminals.
  5. Mscotrid

Mscotrid LawnSite Bronze Member
    from USA

Ric, turn in your John Walsh fan club ID card today please....:cool2:
  6. cod8825

cod8825 LawnSite Senior Member

That was good turn it in now!
  7. mojob

mojob LawnSite Senior Member