1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by jdogsparky, Dec 6, 2007.

1. jdogsparky

jdogsparky LawnSite Member

Has anyone worked for trugreen Chemlawn and had to deal with the non compete form they signed? Whether they went to another company or started their own business.
  2. ted putnam

ted putnam LawnSite Platinum Member

I'm no lawyer. I hear it both ways. I hear they aren't worth the paper they're written on and the complete opposite. Here's what I do know... They can't stop you from making a living and providing for your family.They can stop you from doing it with their customers, whether you are on your own or with another company. If they can prove you came after their customers within a certain time, you could be in need of legal services. Good Luck!
  3. humble1

humble1 LawnSite Silver Member
    from MA

I second that, except usually if you are going to start your own buisness they can only tie you up for a certain radius from them, for so long. I think they do it so you dont do side work on the weekend and if you did they could fire you for the breach of the non complete clause
  4. Young Bros

Young Bros LawnSite Senior Member

I took my non compete from trugreen to a lawyer and he told me i could not compete for a year. I signed another non compete to a local company. I went to his competition and he said as long as i didnt take his customers, he would not sue. I am starting my own company, and still have year left on the local guy non compete. I will wait till that is up to take any of his customers.
  5. jdogsparky