1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

not getting a good kill from trimec 992

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lazyike, Oct 15, 2007.

1. lazyike

lazyike LawnSite Senior Member

I have been using 992 on my accounts for several years now and it seems that my kill is falling off. This year I have stated using sticker to all apps. but it still seems harder and harder to get a good kill.
    What do you guys think do weeds start to build a tolerance of the same chemicals year after year? should I be switching to another 3 way?
    I would like to stay in the same price category. Most of my lawns or sprayed by broadcasting equipment.
    Thanks, Mike
  2. Grandview

Grandview LawnSite Gold Member
    from WI

What weeds are giving you trouble. If its dandelions and clover you are not getting enough ai per acre. If its thistles and ground ivy spike your spray with surge or speed zone. I am finding that Certianty is also excellent on most broad leaf weeds.
  3. lazyike

This spring I sprayed a yard that was almost 50% dandelion at a max rate of 4 pints /acre. when I went back to do my fall application it was still full of dandelions, I have never had a problem before this year killing dandelions and am trying to think why I did not not get a good kill. I sprayed 15 lawns that day and all other lawns are clean, same mix same chemical, does soil ph make some weeds more resistant to chemicals?
    What rate per acre would you Spike with certainty? that stuff is 130.00 for what an 1.5 ounces?
  4. ampeg76

ampeg76 LawnSite Senior Member

a post will not prevent weeds from coming back, you need to apply some kind of pre
  5. americanlawn

americanlawn LawnSite Fanatic
    from midwest