1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

NPR Open Landscape Body with Side Dump leafbox (pictures)

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by Bay de Noc Lawn Car, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Bay de Noc Lawn Car

Bay de Noc Lawn Car LawnSite Member

Okay so I have been holding out on you all for a few years thinking I might patent this and make a mint, but I will never get around patenting this so here are some pictures. I built this landscape bed 5 years ago and it still seem to be a pretty unique design.

Features include:
    Dove tale ramps
    Side dumping leaf/debris/mulch box/ plant hauler with removable sides make the bed competently open.
    Built in leaf loader.
    I can fit 2 60" grasshoppers and still have the box sides on for hauling plants ect.
    Fold down solid sides on most areas of the flatbed for loading pallets.

The dump mechanism is a kit designed for a pickup truck that actually fits between the frame rails of the truck and dumps light loads in about 10 seconds. Having a shorter lift allows the dump to be lower and at the same level as the rest of the bed. When I build this I thought I would take the box sides on and off, but discovered that inside the box was an excellent place to haul plants.

The Dump is about 5'X5'X8' and the over bed is 21'. Having the long bed allows me to get two 61" Grasshopper mid mounts front to back or my 35hp Bobcat compact tractor with loader and box blade (ct235) while still having the front leaf box on.

I have found this to be a very efficient setup and for both landscaping and especially lawn maintenance.

I realized after I started this post that I do not have very show pictures. Please pardon the dirt (I live on the end of dirt road) and the rust (i need to paint the bed before spring.

2. Bay de Noc Lawn Car

More pictures

3. Armsden&Son