Oak Trees

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by hollydelk, Apr 6, 2005.

1. hollydelk

hollydelk LawnSite Member

I have several large oak trees in my yard and I would like to make flower beds around them. It seems that I have heard people say if you put dirt around the bottom of them that they will die? Is this true? If so, I need some suggestions on what to do to beautify the area around the trees, being grass will not grow around them.

2. Advance The Man

Advance The Man LawnSite Member

I'll preface this by saying I am no expert or professional. However, I've lived in Florida all of my life with water oaks, live oaks and the like. I've had some massive one's along the way. Their root system is so vast and stretched out, I don't think there would be any impact if you were to put flowers around them. I wouldn't put azaleas or ligustrums, etc there b/c their roots may intertwine with the oak's roots. Flowers, roses, etc. have such a short root depth it would be okay.

3. BarnOwl

BarnOwl LawnSite Member

Beware that you have to put fertile topsoil under the tree and feed/water your flowerbeds regularly. Normally trees will have very dry and poor soil conditions under them. Not to mention the lack of sun.
    So if you put any flowers under them, take the ones that are used to these conditions to save you a lot of frustration.

4. TScapes

TScapes LawnSite Senior Member