Odd question but...

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by will_c, Apr 8, 2007.

1. will_c

will_c LawnSite Member

Hello,
    I'm a grad student at American University making a film about lawn care in America. I would like to get some shots of homeowners applying fertilizer, pesticides, mulch, etc. and would like to ask them a few questions about their method of lawn care.

Do you have any advice as to the best approach to do that? Do you think you have any homeowners on this forum and in the Washington DC metro area that would let me do that? They would remain anonymous in the film except for their first name and so there wouldn't be any need to worry about privacy matters.

Thanks in advance for your attention and help.
    Will

2. Bill S

Bill S LawnSite Member

put out a request on craigs list and some of your local free papers

3. steve45

steve45 LawnSite Bronze Member

Sounds hokey to me... Probably doing a hit piece on how homeowners are destroying the planet with massive chemical use of something...

4. packer101

packer101 LawnSite Member

visit a garden center trust me they can probably give you names of people who will want too. they get some characters, and would know people who would be willing.

5. KS_Grasscutter

KS_Grasscutter LawnSite Gold Member

My thoughts exactly... probably would NOT be in anyones best interest to do this until we get a lot more info.

6. LindblomRJ

LindblomRJ LawnSite Silver Member

Good point Steve.

7. will_c

will_c LawnSite Member

First, thanks for the helpful replies. I appreciate them.

Second, the structure of the film is as follows:
    History of lawns in America - where did they come from (answer: England). Invention of lawn mower made lawn care feasible for most. Before, "mowing" was done mostly by sheep or hired hands.