Off season jobs...what do you do?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ThreeWide, Oct 5, 2004.

1. ThreeWide

ThreeWide LawnSite Bronze Member

Since this is my first year in the biz, I don't have enough account base to provide much income during the winter season. Most of my accounts are pay per service, which means they will dry up over the next few months. I have a couple of flat monthly fee clients, but not enough to live on.

There will be a few things to do, but we certainly cannot plow snow here in GA. Looks like I will be looking for a part time job to fill the gap. What gigs have you folks done in the off-season?

It would be nice to do something that would help provide green industry experience for next year.

2. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Last winter I spent delivering for a flower shop. Easy work, pay wasn't all that great, but decent around Christmas and V-Day. It was kind of weird, I had run into the owner of the shop about 8 or 9 months earlier at a gas station, and she asked me what I did over the winter. Asked for my phone number for future reference. I had forgotten all about it, when we got our first snowstorm in Dec. the lady called me up out of the blue, looking for me to work.

Thing I learned, a lot of small shops that rely on deliveries have a hard time finding anyone, since typically they want you to use your own vehicle and gas. Since I do that all year already it was no big deal. I'll probably work for her again this winter, she STILL hasn't found another driver since the end of Feb.

3. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Can you sell? Lots of RV and Boat shows over the winter and I work a few of them. I also have a full size truck and can pull any boat or RV so I will pull to the shows. The 3 shows that I worked gave me about 4 weeks of work that I really like. Also gets you a great price on a new boat!!