Official Horrible service call thread

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by DanaMac, Apr 28, 2005.

1. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

How about this be the thread for describing all the crappy service call jobs we work on? Perfect place to post pics of those amazing over-engineered manifolds and do-it-yourself jobs. OK I'll start. Hi, my name is Dana......and I'm an over-worked sprinkler technician.

My technician has now spent 12 hours on a job and still not done. Entire job is copper - mainline, laterals, risers, and brass heads. Plastic 2" valves he says (I'm thinking 1.5"). Company came in and tore out sidewalk and back patio. Everytime they caught a brass head, it tore or bent the copper pipe. At least 16 of these. And the new patio has heads and/or pipe still under it and is leaking from under the patio. So now we have to hand dig around the patio and install all new heads. All the pipe he's been fixing is half inch, and he's just putting on a Male x Copper fitting with a female swing ell and swing piping to new RB 1804s. Funny thing is he talked to the contractor yesterday and they said they knew there were broken heads and pipe under the new patio. WTF!! Thanks for calling us ahead of time. I don't have time to do this job.

2. I know who you can send the overload to :)

3. Ground Master

Ground Master LawnSite Senior Member

Dana, you must be working on an old weathermatic system installed by Robertson's...........I've had my fair share of those and I do the same thing as far as sweating on a copper adaptor.

-Tom

4. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

Yup - old Robertson's system downtown.