Oil Changes

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Highlander, Jul 29, 2002.

1. Highlander

Highlander LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Hello to everyone!

I have been visiting this site for a few months but have just registered this evening. I have learned a great deal from everyone here and appreciate all the great information. My question is:

The Kohler manufacturer recommends changing the oil/filter on my 22 HP Command every one hundred hours, but the local dealer rep recommends every twenty five hours with filter change every 50 hours. I live in central Florida where the summers are hot. What do you guys do/recommend?
    Thanks!

Jim
    Lawns Plus

2. mowerman90

mowerman90 LawnSite Bronze Member

Oil AND Filter every 50 hours. I use Valvoline 10w30 in everything.

3. 2tall

2tall LawnSite Member

Change every 50 hours. How much does it cost for a quart of oil and a filter? A lot cheaper than a new engine.

4. ow man

ow man LawnSite Member

change oil every 35-50 hours. ALWAYS change filter too. Why contaminate new oil with a used old filter? Filters are a lot cheaper than an overhaul!

5. captdevo

captdevo LawnSite Senior Member

if you run amsoil oil with the bypass filter, you only need to change annually or every 1000 hours, whichever comes first.

i have a few customers that run this and the oil is as clean as new every change.

6. wxmn6

wxmn6 LawnSite Member

I always change oil and filter every 50 hours of operation. It is a cheap insurance!

7. Heller Landscaping

Heller Landscaping LawnSite Member

MY DEALER TOLD ME TO RUN STRAIGHT 30 WEIGHT OIL IN ALL AIR COOLED ENGINES. THEY RUN TEN TIMES HOTTER THAN LIQUID COOLED AND WILL BE BETTER OFF IN THE LONG RUN. ALSO CHANGE THE FILTER WITH THE OIL CHANGE THE OVERHAUL IS A LOT MORE EXPENSIVE THAN A LITTLE FILTER.

JUST A THOUGHT:)

8. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic