1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

oil & filters

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Envy Lawn Service, May 15, 2003.

1. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

I wanted to ask a couple of questions to get some group feedback.

#1- Do you use OEM filters or cross reference to another brand name?
    #2- NAPA stuff good? Filters = Wix & Oil = Valvoline, any truth to that?
    #3- Do any of you use a larger than stock oil filter for increased oil capacity?
    #4- Can anyone offer any long term info on Castrol GTX oil?

2. #1 yes off and on

#2 wix is good

#3 if available yes

#4 why it will be in there for a week or 2
  3. Envy Lawn Service

Well, I'm asking for long term users of the brand and their results. I've been using this in my vehicles for a few months now.
  4. Envy Lawn Service

I take it that Castrol GTX is not a popular oil? Or do I need to title a thread Castrol GTX to get attention?
  5. grassdaddy

grassdaddy LawnSite Senior Member

A friend of mines wife has been in lab at Fleetguard for over 25yrs they make all kinds of air and oil filters. Before all the synthetics were going strong. In tests they ran(DON'T know what kind of test)heres how it went.

1-shell fire and ice

I cant remember anymore.:) :)
  6. CO.d 502nd

CO.d 502nd Banned

I USE amsoil and amsoil filters
  7. mikeshere89

mikeshere89 LawnSite Member
    from iowa

wish i could find amsoil, i asked my dealer about it and he looked at me like i was craazy. its amazing how even i know more about this business than the people selling me equipment or at least it seems that way, probably not thou.lol..... can i get that online?amsoil?
  8. Envy Lawn Service