ok i got a ?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by strayer1, Mar 14, 2004.

1. strayer1

strayer1 LawnSite Member

i have experience.i own lots of commercial equipment.I'm just starting out this year and I'm the one and only employee.i live in Pennsylvania.as far as tax stuff and id numbers where do i go from here?I'm looking into business ins. other than that I'm lost.I'm not planning on hiring employees this year.i need to know all the legal stuff for my biz.......please help....:(

2. DJL

DJL LawnSite Member

I'll give you the best help ever for this....

Go see an attorney and/or tax advisory since they will have all of your answers.

3. charlies

charlies LawnSite Senior Member
    from earth

here's a few of the million things you have to do:

get trade name, through the state website, they should have downloadable form.

get irs form ss-4 (for tax i.d.#) off their website (once your there, under business, then forms) you may not need to do this until you plan on hiring employees, i think you can use your ss# up until then.

you need to pay estimated taxes for both the federal and the state quarterly, i don't remember how to start this up now, but call your new and friendlier irs, they can tell you. (they actually are friendlier and more helpful than they used to be).

you should get at least 500k, maybe 1 mil. in liability insurance. you also should have your equipment covered for whatever it's worth. don't forget to call your insurance guy up at least once every couple years to make sure your covered for replacement value, doesn't matter what it is actually worth.

that's all i'm good for right now.:cool:

4. Green Quality

Green Quality LawnSite Member