ok, now what?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by southerngent, Jan 7, 2003.

1. southerngent

southerngent LawnSite Member

I have been approached by another LCO about buying their accounts. The dealer I bought my mower from recommended me to him. I'm just getting started and have no accounts as of yet, I go to give 2 estimates tomorrow.

These are 20 accounts on the beach that are on yearly contracts.He has had them for three years. Just mow, blow and go.They only generate an avg. of $60 each per month, but are very close to each other. He will sign a no compete clause and will go with me to the accounts for introduction. He is asking for three months , but is very flexible on arrangements. So, that's $60x3=$180 x20 accts. =$3620. 20 accts. = $14400 per year. So he's asking approx. 25%.

If I go to the accounts with the guy, should I ask the people to sign year contracts while we're there and only pay the three month amount on those?

Any advice would be appreciated....thanks in advance

2. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member

That's a tough one. Sounds like a low price to me. $15 a cut then give 25% away? $3000 would by a lot of advertising. Plus a new account can be priced at your rate not someone elses. Guess you might raise price 10% and only pay on the ones that stay. Good luck.

Mark

3. southerngent

southerngent LawnSite Member

Thanks Mark. Yup, that's about $15 per cut, but here in Fl. that's about right for a small lawn...

4. Mowing Freak

Mowing Freak LawnSite Senior Member
    from S.E. Ks