Old Mower. When is it time for a new one?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sgl41377, Sep 10, 2008.

1. sgl41377

sgl41377 LawnSite Member

I have a 2002 Toro Zmaster 44 inch deck. I bought this used about 18 months ago. I had been part time until May 08 and thought it would last for a good while since I was PT. Now that I am FT, I feel like I am always buying parts. i dont mind fixing the mower, but sometimes the timing is bad. It seems like the dealer never has all the parts I need, so they have to order them. I make due though. I do have a 36 inch Exmark Metro I bought new as a back-up. Very well maintained mower. I can't really afford a new mower now, but when do you call a mower USED UP?

2. mississippiturf

mississippiturf LawnSite Senior Member

How many hours on it?? If 2,000 or better I'd start saving up to replace it.

3. Kennedy Landscaping

Kennedy Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

Usually when mine start getting hard to start and just "look" old I usually start saving to replace them, however I do have an old Toro that is my backup in case something happens to another, only used it once so far this summer. Probably will use it alot on fall cleanups for the fact the bagger is pretty big on it.

4. sgl41377

sgl41377 LawnSite Member

Thanks. It currently has almost 1800 hours on it. I paid $2800 for it, so I feel like it was worth the money for the few years I have had it. Also, it would make a great back-up if i were to buy a new mower. I don't think buying another used mower for a full time operation is smart. Now another question. Exmark, Toro, Walker? I have dealers close to me for all these manufacturers.

5. dura to the max

dura to the max LawnSite Silver Member
    from georgia