1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

One man operations

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by okie2, Dec 31, 2007.

1. okie2

okie2 LawnSite Member

How many of you are one man operations? I am looking to start this year doing it part time. I am a teacher and a coach. I am looking to just mow and trim 10 or less yards from April until around Sep/Oct. I have a 737 JD, Stihl fs 80 trimmer and a 16x6.5 trailer I got for $500. Everything is paid off. Now I just need some customers. Anyone else do yards as part time? Any advice would be great. (I know, should have got the customers first.)
  2. bigtex

bigtex LawnSite Member
    from ma

do it! its great and easy part time $. i started alone, built it to full time with workers. where your a teacher you can get out of work early enough to do three of four lawns in a day. my advice, take care of the customers you get by always doing a good job on the maintenance and you'll have them as long as you want them, i've been cuttin some of the same houses for 10 years now. its easy part time money with many benifits (independence,outside work, and the ability to grow at your own pace.) good luck
  3. lawnprosteveo

lawnprosteveo LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

You wont have any problems getting 10 customers...you'll have more trouble saying no to all the people who'll want you to do their yard too! Mowing season for us Okies starts around spring break...you'll be mowing fescue, henbit weeds, and scalping bermuda...then it goes til about halloween..
    Im a firefighter and mow on my days off..its a great part time job.
    Lots of good info on here for guys just starting up.
    Good Luck!
  4. stumpjumper

stumpjumper LawnSite Member