Only 2 customers with Expensive mailing

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BLUE, Jun 13, 2002.

1. BLUE

BLUE LawnSite Member

:confused: Hey guys ,I am brand new in the lawn cutting business and have sent out a fancy brochure with my company name attached from LESCO but as of yet not too many customers .In fact just some price shoppers, Question is do fliers work better in newspaper insertion or something else? Any ideas. I live in a area were every body has a landscaper, I cannot seem to grab them. I put a lot of money in my truck paint and logo, Maybe too fancy scares people off? Any help would be welcome. Thanks

2. Ajays

Ajays LawnSite Member

Hey, there is no need to do an expensive mailing. Most people throw away mail they don't recognize the name on anyway, too lazy to even open it most of the time. For me, flyers on the mailbox have worked really well. People have to take it off their mailbox eventually and curiosity will cause them to look at it. The big thing is timing with flyers. You have to pass them out in neighborhoods where lawn care is in demand and at a time when other lawn companys are screwing up ex. like when it rains a lot. That is when lawn companys get backed up and if they don't have a good relationship with their customers, the customers will often look for someone else. Just remember that the % is still low and don't expect to get more than 5 clients per 1000 flyers. 5 clients is actually a good amount per 1000 flyers. Also advertise all the things you do so that something is likely to catch their eye. People like having one company to take care of all their maintenance.

3. I do encourage you to continue with your flyers, however, just don't expect a lot of business from it.

Have you tried your local church bulliten??

I tell you the free way of getting busines, and yah,sometimes you pay for it, it's called referals from existing customers. How you get those referals, doing awsome work at a fair price.