Opinions on Skag mowers.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn Tech LLC, Feb 8, 2008.

1. Lawn Tech LLC

Lawn Tech LLC LawnSite Member

I have been using Grasshoppers for 12 years now but am looking at Skags for a change. I would like some feedback from guys who run them. Thanks for your help.

2. axe124

axe124 LawnSite Member

I have only been in the business for 3 years now and I started with (2) 36" walk-behind Scags. Although, I now have other units that are in use more, the scags have probably been the best investment so far. In my opinion they cut really well and maintenance has been very minimal.

In fact, I only carry one on the trailer now because we also bought a 44" ZTR Gravely. The other scag sits in the garage for a back-up mower.

3. delphied

delphied LawnSite Silver Member

I chose Exmark only because I felt the cut was a little better. Scag is known to be a tuff and trouble free mower with an acceptable if not good cut.

4. ponyboy

ponyboy LawnSite Bronze Member
    from ny

in business for over 20 years scags used to be the best now they have alot of electrical and saftey switch issues and their cut is accepyable. We went to ferris and also trying jd. if you are not using hydro exmark and everride have great blade tip speed. all that said what does your dealer sell the guy that will be there when you need him?

5. tb8100

tb8100 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from TX

what are you looking to spend?

6. kandklandscape

kandklandscape LawnSite Senior Member
    from PA