opinions please

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lonnie13, Aug 25, 2002.

1. lonnie13

lonnie13 LawnSite Member

I am a firefighter full time and a part-time mower. I am considering buying a 32" toro or exmark next spring. I now have about 15 small yards ($25-$30). Next year I plan on having 25 yards max, that is about the most I can do. My question is, Is it worth my money to buy a 32" or should I stay with my 21" commercial snapper?

2. Turfdude

Turfdude LawnSite Bronze Member

If the lawns are small (mainly 3000-5000 sq ft), you should at least get a 36" machine. Most gates accomodate a mower of this size. If you have very few gates - you may want to consider a 48" (which would allow you to do larger properties in the future).

Bob

3. TurfGuyTX

TurfGuyTX LawnSite Senior Member
    from DFW

Is the 25 lawns the most you can do with a 21"? If so, I'd bet you could squeeze in a little more with the 32". You'd shave minutes of mowing off each lawn. Is the 32" so you can get in back gates? If not, why not a larger mower? Good luck to you.

4. lonnie13

lonnie13 LawnSite Member

Yes, I can only mow about 20-25 with the 21", maybe not even 25. I would like to get the 36" but I dont think most of the gates would accomodate one that big. I need to know if the overhead would be to much to even have a 32" or not. Can you do 1 acre lots in a reasonable amount of time with a 32"?

5. Best Cuts

Best Cuts LawnSite Member
    from 63366

lonnie Get the widest cut possible. If your using a push mower the difference between that and a walkbehind in like the horse&buggy and a race car!!!!! Generally after the inital cost your overhead is very low. blades &air filters not much. Take a tape measure with you first & measure their gates, if most will fit the 36" get it! The time & energy you save will well be worth the cost !! Remember the Cost is a write off, Get the BEST!!! I am very pleased with my exmark's !!! The BEST to you! :D

6. SLS

SLS LawnSite Bronze Member