1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Outsourcing (originally posted in irrigation and comm. landscaping

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by kobisk, Jan 21, 2004.

1. kobisk

kobisk LawnSite Member

Hey all,

I was wanting to get everyone’s opinion. Here is my situation My father-in-law and Brother-in-law have been installing and servicing irrigation systems approx. 25-30 installs per year for the past 2 years, they have recently started doing landscaping and also ponds .They also have around 5-10 regular lawn maintenance contracts, and do have a few snow removal contracts .

I have been helping them out for approx 2 years, they used to work for another contractor before that time. My job in IT may soon be outsourced. I have always loved working outside and I did lawn maintenance for approx 11 years during school. I have designed several of the systems that my father-in-laws company has installed.
    Am I crazy to go from steady paycheck to working with father-in-law in his 3 man operation? By the way I have a wife who is a speech pathologist and I get along great with my inlaws, I have 2 kids and it will involve a move of 150 miles. My wife has other job prospects so she will still be employed.
    My main concern is being able to provide for the kids, otherwise I would do this in the drop of a hat since I have never considered working with father-in-law and brother-in-law “work”. Any thoughts would be appreciated.