Overgrown Property and a Downed Tree

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by JonM, May 23, 2005.

1. JonM

JonM LawnSite Member

I tried the search function and couldn't find anything that specifically answered my question. I really hope I put this in the right section. I'm still a newbie, so don't bash on me too much. I got a call from a lady to do an estimate today on some work. She had a prior LCO come back in April and cut down a pine tree, and then they left, not to be seen again. The tree is on the ground. It's 61 ft long by 13 inches in diameter at the base. What should I charge to cut it up and haul it away? My other question is her lawn is 28,000 square feet, and around 8 - 10 inches tall. She has approximately 50 trees scattered throughout. How much should I charge for the initial cut to a normal height, and what would be a wise price afterward to mow it biweekly?

All comments and criticism are welcome. Any help from the experienced companies on how to price this would be greatly appreciated. I have priced quite a few lawns before, but never any this overgrown and with that many obstacles. Thanks! :waving:

- JON

2. freddyc

freddyc LawnSite Senior Member

how good are you with a saw??????

I don't cut a lot but a guy I know had a similar issue--pine tree about the same size as you describe. I consider him good with a saw.

Took him about 2 hours to cut it up and stack it, start a brush fire, and had the entire thing cleaned up in about 4-5 hours.

No input on pricing....what equipment will you be using for the first cut and are there any surprises hiding on you?? Do you have to repair the lawn where the tree fell????

3. JonM

JonM LawnSite Member