Overseeder choice

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by jcltyson, Jul 5, 2006.

1. jcltyson

jcltyson LawnSite Member

Has anyone had any experience with the Husqvarna overseeder vs the Bluebird vs Turfco vs Lesco?
  2. 6'7 330

6'7 330 LawnSite Bronze Member

I have no experience with, Husky,Bluebird OR Turfco.We run Ryan Mataway’s and Lesco Renovator’s.The Lesco is easier to use and cheaper then the Ryan. The Lesco does hills a lot better then the Ryan. The Ryan does a first class excellent job, it feeds the seeds through tubes to discs that plant the seed into the slit, but is just a bear for employees to operate. The Lesco is much easier to operate then the Ryan, is hydro driven, has Power reverse, fixed blades that slice as seed is cut into the soil,it also has a back brush that drags loose soil over the slice seedbed, very good seeder. The Lesco always delivers a perfect, even distribution we always get excellent germination.

And moreover, if I;m not mistaken,all the other brands you mentioned are not hydro driven.
  3. upidstay

upidstay LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

Not familiar with Husq's overseeder, but I agree with 6'7's (who'd disagree with somebody THAT big?!) assessment of the Ryan an the lesco. Both are excellent machines. The Ryan does a better job, but the increased cost and the fact that it is a complete bear to run make the Lesco a better choice all around. I would not buy the bulebird. Not a quality peice of equipment.
  4. turfcobob

turfcobob LawnSite Senior Member