Overseeding after Pre-M has been applied???

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by CutNLawns, Mar 17, 2008.

1. CutNLawns

CutNLawns LawnSite Member

Have to ask but a mowing customer has asked me to aerate and overseed his lawn next week and I noticed that the lawn was just sprayed last week with a prodiamine Pre-M application by another outfit. I am new to this chemical stuff so I have no problem asking if i am unsure. It has rained quite a bit since the application but have been told it is OK to seed and also not OK to seed. What is your opinions or past experiences? Thanks!

2. mnturfmaster

mnturfmaster LawnSite Member

If prodiamine was applied, you will not be able to seed for 4-6 months, depending on the rate that it is applied. The grass seeds will not germinate. Also, aerating after pre-emergent will open up voids for the crabgrass to germinate. The only pre-emergent material that can be used at the time of seeding is tupersan (siduron).

3. vegomatic40

vegomatic40 LawnSite Senior Member
    from 6

Oh it's Ok alright. As long as you are ok with practically no germination. It's pretty unlikely that the turf would survive the summers you have in St. Louis area anyway (I'm assuming you are seeding with Fescue). Read the label on Prodiamine and seed in the FALL.

4. grassman177

grassman177 LawnSite Fanatic

from experience i know you should tell him no, wait till fall. the aeration will reduce the effectiveness of the pre -m AND it most definitely will kill the seed. i put it down too strong last year on a few accidentally including my own and i could not get seed to grow at all with three tries last fall on my own. explain this to him and sign him up for fall.

5. CutNLawns

CutNLawns LawnSite Member

This is exactly what I knew was the right answer but when a couple suppliers are telling you there should be no problem they made me start second guessing myself. Thanks for the input guys!

6. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic