overseeding guarantee

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by cnymowing, Apr 15, 2007.

1. cnymowing

cnymowing LawnSite Member

I was going door to door yesterday like I usually do at this time of year, and at one of the houses, the guy that answered the door asked about overseeding, so I explaned it... then he asked if I offer a guarantee with it.

I have never done this before, becaues of all the factors involved with the seed taking root... the customer watering, the weather,etc.

So I just want to know if anyone does offer a guarantee, and how long it is good for. Thanks!
  2. IN2MOWN

IN2MOWN LawnSite Platinum Member

I offer a guarantee but I also give them specific instructions on watering and care. I tell them I can stop by at any time in the next month to check up on them and test the ground to see if its getting adequate water.

If they are doing what they are supposed and still have some bare or thin spots I will come back in the spring and overseed at my cost.
  3. johnnywill08

johnnywill08 LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA z6

real hard to gurantee anthing like overseeding and even sod if they don't have automated irrigation. you're only 1/3 of the equation, ma nature and the client being the one's who carry the hardest parts. i'm not the home depot, and i can't afford to guarantee some plants going to make it after i leave the site. i tell people, that i know what i'm doing and send them to jobs i've done, even my house (for reference purposes) and they'll see plants/lawns thriving.... because those people followed my directions.

just be straight with them, give em ref's and say if you follow my instructions, you'll get success if not you won't. if you're honest and do good work, you shouldn't need a guarantee. people want a fail safe in case they get lazy, i don't oblige. but hey i'm a stubborn, arrogant a-hole-just ask my wife- and she LOVES me....
  4. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator