Overseeding Price

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by colonel landscaping, Apr 22, 2003.

1. colonel landscaping

colonel landscaping LawnSite Member

i am new to seeding lawns and a lady called me up today and said she wanted an estimate.. well i came on here and did some searching.. for prices about that and she has an ok lawn but used to have a nice fully grown in green lawn and aboused it and now is almost dirt and she wants the whole this overseeded .. she needs fert.. seed... LIME alot of it **** load of moss and it's about a 12,000 sq ft area i gave her a rough estimate of $1,400 .. does that sound about right?
  2. NC Big Daddy

NC Big Daddy LawnSite Senior Member

I would charge somewhere between 100$ and 10,000$
  3. colonel landscaping

hmmmm $10,000payup payup payup :D ...seriously i am fairly new to the biz and i would like some input
  4. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

Are you going to just seed with a spreader?
    Are you going to core aerate first ?
    You could also core aerate, then slit seed the lawn, slit seeding is a lot more money, but a lot more work, this method would give you the best seed to soil contact..
    Yes there is a lot of moss, but you need a soil test to determine how much lime is needed per thousand square foot. With the results of the soil test, you put down lime per thousand square feet, and if it needs a lot, then multiple applications will be needed, so many number of pounds of lime per 1000 square feet each time.. The soil test will tell you how much nuterients are needed also. You must apply starter at a certain amount per thousand square feet. That is on the label.
    This job could get you some nice money, but it would need to be done right.
  5. colonel landscaping