1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Overwhelmed Help!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by GillamLawn, Mar 31, 2004.

1. GillamLawn

GillamLawn LawnSite Member

Last week I sent out about 40 letters to companies, and now I am getting calls everyday to go give a bid on the properties. All the places want lawn care and shrub bids, all are apartment and condo complexes, I have no experience bidding bigger broken up places like those, and have never been asked to bid on shrubs. I am just overwhelmed and I don't want to lose these places due to improper bidding, i need some help, so could anyone please give me some great pointers? or ideas, i would be truely greatful. thanks
  2. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

For the mowing part, I would break them up into smaller sections and combine the total of all areas for the bid.

The shrubs might be a little tougher, you might want to do an hourly price for the shrub trimming.
    In all this will be a real learning experience for you.
    Good Luck!!!!
  3. lawnguyland

lawnguyland LawnSite Bronze Member

no offense man, but why would you send letters to places that you don't even know how to bid on? I don't get it. If you are this unprepared I am scared for you. I do hope for the best for you and good luck, but how do you start a business without knowing the first thing about it? Educate yourself first about the business and all of the practices and methods related to landscaping, Then send out the letters. Like I said, no offense meant at all, but it makes me wonder...
  4. lawnkid

lawnkid LawnSite Senior Member

I am looking to get into condo and apartemnt work too, do you think I could see the letter you sent to them because I am having no luck getting any commercials due to lowballers.
  5. Avery