Paid more at local dealer than from Ebay....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LwnmwrMan22, Mar 16, 2007.

1. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

We all know about dealers on Ebay, selling stuff extremely cheap.

Anyways, I'm to the point in my business where I can afford to buy a backpack blower because it's orange, to match the Kubota mowers.

I know, I know, most guys talk about what cfm, speed, whatever, and go on and on and on with specs, but I know I've been running Echo bp blowers for going on 11 years now, in business for 19 years.

The new 755t is orange, so I thought it'd be nice to 'upgrade'. My 751 is about 4-5 years old now, a little beat up, but that's fine, it's just a bp blower.

Anyways, there's a dealer on Ebay that'll send me one straight from Echo for $425, full warranty, receipt, there's guys on here that have bought from the dealer on Ebay.

I called up my dealer, $500. At first, I said, okay, just wanted to give you a shot, I'll get it off of Ebay.

I then called the local dealer back, and said, you know what, no, I'll get it from you. You've always dropped everything and fixed my stuff while I wait for it, order me one in.

Sales guy, who's also the exec. vice president of the dealership, said, okay, to make up the difference, we'll cancel the charge for coming to your house to pick up a mower, bring it to the shop and go through to do a spring checkup for you.

So, after all is said and done, I've actually saved myself $50.

It pays to have a decent dealer.

2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

It's never really occured to me to buy anything with a warranty from eBay. I had an issue with a brand new Exmark mower once and the dealer I bought it from couldn't fix it. Exmark ended up sending me to another dealer and he let it sit for a while until he decided to look at it.

3. abuckeye

abuckeye LawnSite Member