pansies ( flowers ) only in cool season?

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by northernsvc's, May 20, 2006.

1. northernsvc's

northernsvc's LawnSite Member

i had a lady at a nursery tell me i was crazy for puttting pansys down now, she says the won't do well, they are only for cool climates? i have never dealt with these annuals before anyone know? i am in zone 5, a couple of my customers plant there own and they do fine, is she correct? or on crack?
  2. grass_cuttin_fool

grass_cuttin_fool LawnSite Gold Member

Im no expert, They dont like hot weather but I have planted them in a shaded area and kept them through the summer months, or had them in a big planter and moved the planter under a tree.

3. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

She was VERY Correct too. Pansies are a Cool/Cold weather Annual flower. For his time of year and the summer you should have used marigolds and others.
  4. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

Here we use them as a winter annual but they still last until late April early May which translates to 90-95 anyway, if they get some afternoon shade I think you will be fine. May not have been your best choice but I wouldn't sweat it.

MM he is in IL. your in NC, different climates. His night time temps should help him out quite a bit with the pansies. If he is in northern IL it gets much cooler at night than you do. If he is in southern IL it still gets a little cooler at night.
  5. Dreams To Designs

Dreams To Designs LawnSite Bronze Member

Your pansies will last till the heat and humidity of summer render them ugly. At that point or before, you can plant petunias, in sun, or impatiens, for shade or any other sun or shade tolerant annuals. If you are lucky, when the temperatures start to drop again in the fall, the pansies may make a comeback.

6. MMLawn

I can't believe you guys that are professionals are giving him this advice. Esp, after his own LOCAL nursery even told him not to plant them.