part time to full time lawn care

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by greenskeeper79, Jul 12, 2009.

1. greenskeeper79

greenskeeper79 LawnSite Member
    from PA

Kicking around the idea to start a lawn care business as a second income to start. 1st child is 3 mo old and would like for the wife to stay at home with him if possible.

I have 13 years experience as a golf course superintendent. I have a spray/fert application license as well as the knowledge to maintain turfgrass at 0.100" so 3" homeowner should be no problem.

I am thinking of getting used equipment to start.

Already have a truck, fert spreader, walk sprayer (small)

Thinking of purchasing, used if possible (w/ cash):

12x6 trailer (dump maybe?)

zero turn mower (50"?)

string trimmer

backpack blower

Advice on how to proceed as well as most reliable equipment that you would recommend.

Pricing for cutting is always a question, the area here has homes in the $300k+ range. Thinking minimum $30 for the smallest lawns.

Will be putting together an expense sheet to determine costs.

2. Mowinforaliving

Mowinforaliving LawnSite Bronze Member

Sounds like a good plan to me. Dump trailers are expensive around here. You would have to have alot of use for one to justify the $6,000 to $8,000.

3. greenskeeper79

from PA

Agreed more expensive than a regular trailer, was thinking down the line because my truck is not a dump. I can get 3x ground mulch through the golf course at $16/yd. Delivered around here is getting $35/yd plus delivery fees.

I guess I could start with a regular trailer and go from there.

4. Mowinforaliving

That's what I would do, or rent a dump trailer on the bigger jobs.

5. greenskeeper79

from PA

pricing out around $5k for the basic equipment I need to get started.

$30 per cut minimum I would need 15 yards or so per week to suppliment my wifes income.