Part time to full time

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by m1i2k9e, May 25, 2006.

1. m1i2k9e

m1i2k9e LawnSite Member

Hey guys, my friend and I have been doing this part time for several years now, and I was just wondering what was the hardest part in taking the plunge to full time. We currently have 30 accounts, a 61" and 48" bobcat, Huskey trimmer and blower, 90 Silverado, and an 89 Chevy dump. Any suggestions on what should be done and how to go about taking this big step would be appreciated.

2. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

Get about 70 more accts BEFORE you go fullime, esp if there are 2 of you cause you will starve to death and lose your azz's with just 30 accts (if they are all residential) even while you are trying to build business, and remember this late in the season most folks, except the price shoppers and the PITA's already have their guy for the year. No way 30 "normal" accts will support you.

3. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

I agree. You really need to have double that in accounts to survive w/ two of you. You may be able to survive by pushing lawn renovations really hard this fall, but going into summer will be tough.

4. Quail Creek LC

Quail Creek LC LawnSite Member
    from IOWA

First off you and your buddy need to part ways. In the long run it probably wont work out. Next you need to get as many accounts as you can possibly do while doing your other job. Save up some cash and pay off all your bills. find yourself a sugar mama to fall back on if all fails:) ..