Passionate About Gardens

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by SATaylor, Apr 12, 2008.

1. SATaylor

SATaylor LawnSite Member

Hi Everyone. I'm a newbie to the site. I just heard about it, and couldn't wait to logon.

I am a Vice President and Operations Manager in a large financial institution. Banking is virtually all I've ever done, but I am now interested in making a career change. Actually, it's been my desire for some 10 years now.

I love to garden, and want the opportunity to work in a related field. Ultimately, I would like to have my own garden center/nursery. In fact, I already have my business name picked out and registered. Problem is, I don't know how to get started.

I've done some very small jobs that I got through people I know, the largest of which included flowerscaping a subdivision entrance, and a church entrance. I've had business cards printed up, and gone door to door leaving them for flowerscaping services. Disappointingly, nothing came of that. I am so passionate about plants and gardens that at times I have been more helpful to shoppers in nurseries than their staff.

I'm perfectly willing to work part-time for an existing business, to augment my knowledge, but it seems to be a hard business to break into. I know this is my calling. Any advice?

2. No Rush

No Rush LawnSite Member

Hello from South Texas! One piece of advice I will give you is "just to it" everything will fall in to place the more you learn. Don't worry to much about a name, organization, bla bla bla...seek out help from your local SBA or Small Business Development Center; they are very helpful. Good luck...

3. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member