Pay for gas or payments on new truck

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Martee, Nov 20, 2005.

1. Martee

Martee LawnSite Member

I am going to start my business next season I've been working for LCO for 4 years and going on my own part time next year but question is regarding the truck I now own. I have a 84 chev flat bed 11' have built side boards for it and love the truck BUT it only get 10 miles to a gallon at most. Runs real rich most of the time and thinking of putting new carb on it to see if this helps? But was wondering if I can afford it in a year or so if I should sell it and buy a newer truck that gets better mileage. So pay for the gas or pay payments on a newer truck is the question? I plan on working for other lco two days a week and for myself the rest.
    Other question is should I wait to advertise until I get my license (Feb) and until spring or should I start advertising at homes now?
    any input would be helpful thanks

2. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

If the truck is in good mechinacal condition, meaning you don't need to replace the engine or trans. then I'd stick with old reliable. You can actually WORK ON an '84 truck! It's paid for. Even if it needs normal stuff like a total brake job, it's still going to be less $ per year than the payments on a new one. Sure a new truck has a warranty, but it's only going to be getting 15 or so mpg pulling a trailer AT BEST. It will look pretty, untill you have to climb into it covered in grass and dirt...

What kind of license are you talking about? A pesticide license? If so, you best wait till you have it in hand before advertising your services. I'd hate to see someone get fined for not having a license and not having even started the season yet!

3. Lawn Masters

Lawn Masters LawnSite Senior Member