1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

paying the help

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rpmlawns, May 9, 2001.

1. rpmlawns

rpmlawns LawnSite Member

I am fairly new in the lawn maintenance biz. (Started in 1999) Over the winter I bought-out another lawn service company. I am having a heck of a time finding good help and determining what they should be paid. (By the hour or by the account) I am located 40 miles west of Chicago. Any suggestions would be appreciated!:)
  2. joshua

joshua LawnSite Bronze Member

i pay my help by the hour. seems to work the best, but i'm trying to come up with a new way to pay, haven't figured one out yet.
  3. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

While there are some obvious incentives related to efficiency by paying by-the-job, I would not at all recommend it. There is nothing wrong with paying by the hour.

First, realize that you're not the only one having a hard time finding good, reliable workers. It's a result of our economy and the fact that unemployment at or near the natural rate of unemployment. Which basically means that anyone who's worth their salt and wants a job, already has one.

Now, some tips on finding good, reliable help;

1) Put an ad in the paper. Hire like a real employer would. Have them fill out a real applicaiton, W-2 form, I-9 form, etc. Conduct a professional interview. And conduct several of them (5+) before you make a decision. The more professional you make it, the more you'll attract the right kind of guys.

2) You can weed out a lot of applicants over the phone. Just ask if they have a valid Driver's license and reliable transportation. If they don't, they are probably not the kind of person you want to hire.