people want it for free

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by lawnandorderny, Apr 25, 2008.

1. lawnandorderny

lawnandorderny LawnSite Member

Please share some positive stories because in my area, nobody wants to pay to have their lawn done, but they want someone to cut it. I am just starting out and dont want to low ball because i am not in this for charity. I feel I am giving the lowest price possible and the people I have been dealing with think its to much. I try to stick with a $25.00 min. because with gas prices going up, anything lower does not seem worth it. I gave out flyers with a price on it for each specific house. I got a call from a lady with a flyer for 35.oo for a cut, trim, blow. She wanted us to do the lawn and give her an estimate for mulching and a few other things. We were going to start tomorrow so i called to confirm the date with her and now she thinks are price for $35.00 is to high. She can have the boy across the street do it for $15.00. I told her that if he can do it for $15 than that is the way to go. I know this is all part of the business but I just dont think I should go lower in price just because people dont want to pay for a service. Please give advice, horror stories and please I love the success stories. Thanks all

2. JRS Landscaping

JRS Landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

stick to your guns i dont lower my gate for less than $30

3. CALandscapes

CALandscapes LawnSite Senior Member

I agree with JRS; don't back down from your price. It's better not to take the work if you're going to be doing it for free (or even worse, losing money on it).

Keep on hustling; you'll eventually get to where you want to be.

Chase

4. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Why not try and do one for free, see what happens.

5. F3Nelson

F3Nelson LawnSite Member

Here is my new suggestion to the kid down the street or the guy that will do it for 15 bucks.