1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

pepole with no business license

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by walterslawn&landscap, Mar 4, 2003.

1. walterslawn&landscap

walterslawn&landscap LawnSite Member

what do you do when some @#%&* with no business license and has a job and is mowing on the side and can under bid you because it is just a part time job to them. when i am out here trying to make a living at this and i have a business and have to pay tax's and make it in the winter months.
  2. Husker1982

Husker1982 LawnSite Senior Member

What are you calling a business license? Cause here in michigan if all you do is cut grass you don't need a license. Are you talking of a registered name?
  3. walterslawn&landscap

walterslawn&landscap LawnSite Member

no i am just saying i am in this for a living and there are some who do this with no over head and work some where making 40,000 a year as a teacher and in the summer they mow grass as for what i meant by a license is do these people pay income tax and do they pay insurance and are they bonded (NO) but i am.
  4. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

I cut grass part-time and don't have a license (none needed). I guarentee you just because I am part-time does not mean I am a low-baller. I have equipment cost, along with insurance, just like everyone else. As far as dealing with low ballers, I say deal with it.

Invite the competition and rise above.

5. Blessed 1

Blessed 1 LawnSite Senior Member