Perception and Reality

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by cod8825, Sep 5, 2007.

1. cod8825

cod8825 LawnSite Senior Member

I want to know am I missing something because my numbers are not adding up.
    Just like everyone else I am licensed and insured but this is my first year doing this. Up until this year we have been doing granular products for fertilization weed and feeds and such. My boss wants to go liquid because he and I are convinced that it will work just as well and be more profitable but my numbers are not adding up correct me where I am wrong.

In Kansas city where I live the going rate for lawn apps average is 125 an acre. Now we have some 8 to 10 acres lots lined up for six apps next year and we charged them 1000 to 1250 respectively. All of the information I am giving is from memory and can be wrong so don't criticize the numbers. Lesco greenflo fertilizer is 1 oz to 1000 sq ft. now there is 44500 sp ft in an acre so we will use 44 oz in an acre correct? So with a 10 acre ob we will use 440 oz roughly correct along with 200 gallons of water. OK so we can get a 2 and 1/2 gallon jug of greenflo for 60 bucks but we will need to bottles because we will use 1 and half of another bottle so about 90 for the fertilizer not bad. No we are offering pre-emergent control we thought we would use dimension. That is 300 dollars for a 2 and 1/2 gallon bottle and it is applied at 1 oz per 1000 sp ft. Again we are talking about 400 oz roughly that is like 450 dollars for pre-emergent and 90 for fertilizer for combined cost of about 550 in chemicals so we are only looking at roughly 400 dollars for profit actually 300 after labor and gas that does not seem like the profit margins I was thinking for doing squirt and fert. Please correct me where I am wrong I have got to be missing something.

All comments welcome
  2. Rayholio

Rayholio LawnSite Bronze Member