Planting shrubs and bushes

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by dmk395, May 20, 2001.

1. dmk395

dmk395 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Ma

I am relatively new to the business, and havent done much with planting bushes, flowers etc. Is it easy to do, looks it, but dont really know. Also it seems to be very profitable, any advice?

2. Stonehenge

Stonehenge LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Midwest

It's not all that difficult to plant shrubs. Know your soil types and plant accordingly.

Knowing what to plant in your area is another tier of knowledge. You'll need to know sun/water/soil/fert requirements of plants, and those conditions in the various areas of the site.

Knowing what will look good together is a third tier of knowledge.

I've known small companies that have jumped into landscaping without knowing any of this. Their sites are also pretty easy to pick out in a neighborhood. :) :) :alien: :)

Run a search in this forum and you'll find some sound advice from people that have been at this for awhile.

3. greens1

greens1 LawnSite Senior Member

Stonehenge is on the money. Just one thing I would add to that other tier of knowledge, Ph. Ph testing is probably one of the most important , least expensive and most frequently overlooked tests available.

Many plants require a certain minimum or maximum Ph level to draw critical neutriants from the soil. I won't go into the entire scope of what Ph does for plant material, some plants are indiferant to Ph but not many.

A excellant book to get you started is " The Manual of Woody Landscape Plants " by Michael A. Dirr. It will give you the necessary information on any woody plant material, including everything stonehenge mentioned as well as Ph.

Good Luck,
    Jim L

4. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ