Planting Tree Costs? What do you think?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Tim Wright, Aug 4, 2006.

1. Tim Wright

Tim Wright LawnSite Bronze Member

This is my first time on such an estimate ----I have been asked for an estimate on planting 50 trees as a buffer zone. I have a few questions, and also what I think the cost are and might be.

Please tell me if I am close or out of my mind.

The questions first.

How long would it generally take you to plant 50 1 1/2 to 2ft tall trees 15 ft apart in a straight line or staggered?

Do you think the trees would survive an average winter being the season we are in? And do you think I should doubt the cost of the trees and gaurantee them for a year, or trust that they will not get wipped out this winter?

Any other thoughts?

OK, here are some figures that I am thinking, The cost of the trees are as quoted to me for 50, as well as the composted bedding soil. Everything else is estimated by me. Do you think I am close or off.

Thank you,

Cost

Potted Tree’s 1 ½ - 2ft,

White Pine or 50ea. @ $18.00 = $900.00 tax $54.00

3 Yrds of Sifted Bedding Soil W/Compost $45.00

Shipping/Transportation of Trees and Dirt $100.00 (30miles)

Labor Schedule and Cost

1 Minutes - for Line and Tree Placement
    3 Hours - for Holes With Tractor & Post Hole Digger
    6 Hours - for Planting

Labor 10 hrs@ $65.00 = $650.00

Sub W/ No Guarantee on Trees $1,749.00 tx $149.88 = $1,898.88
    With Guarantee $3,123.88

Thank you,

Tim

2. Wilandscape

Wilandscape LawnSite Member

"Sub W/ No Guarantee on Trees $1,749.00 tx $149.88 = $1,898.88
    With Guarantee $3,123.88"