Please advise on residential mower

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by han_d_man, Feb 7, 2008.

1. han_d_man

han_d_man LawnSite Member

:) First let me thank everyone for this wonderful info on mowing (my first day on this site) I am a beginner with one season under my belt. I'm a residential lawn cutter with 15 customers and so far 5 new prospects I started out in June 07 with a 8 yr old Craftsman 21 inch self propelled mower.I'm looking to buy a 18hp 42 inch lawn tractor and a 6.75 torque 21 inch self propelled walk behind mower I'm undecided on whether to buy Craftsman or Troy-Bilt their prices are in my range but I don't know which is the more reliable low maintenance product your advise will be appreciated

2. Valk

Valk LawnSite Silver Member

Toro 21 Super Recycler for a true multi-purpose machine.
    -true right-sided side-discharge as opposed to a left-sided rear discharge
    -up to 4.25" cutting height

In '05, when Toro redesigned their SR 21 decks to include the above (2) attributes...I found bagging had become unnecessary...HAPPY DAY! :D

PM me if you have any questions about the above as there's more to all this and I'm sick of singing these praises...do a search and you'll learn a lot!

3. lawnkingforever

lawnkingforever LawnSite Bronze Member

Why buy a tractor? I would invest in a 36" used WB. My first year, I did use my tractor for a few of my larger yards(Didnot have WB yet). My tractor took a beating, these things are not made for being loaded and unloaded off a trailer or truck on a daily basis. I only used it because I already owned one for my own yard. They are not very efficient either. I would buy a nice 21" and mow your a** off and save the money for a WB. I guess if you found a cheap tractor on CL and and that is your only option for bigger properties then go for it. Just my opinion.

4. QLC- Rick

QLC- Rick LawnSite Member