1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Please Help Me Bid Cemetary!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by retrodog, Dec 18, 2007.

1. retrodog

retrodog LawnSite Silver Member

Hey guys, I'm trying to get a new cemetary this year, and I have very little experience in bidding. I mow 2 other smaller ones right now (17 and 22 acres), but they just told me what they paid and I took them. This cemetary is 100 acres with 59 acres actually fully developed. I can poison 3 inches around graves, they want me to pick up limbs, and trim hedges also. I know it is kinda vague, but if you guys could give me some good close ballpark figures to go by. I am planning on only being out there for one day, but I am buying 3 brand new Bad Boy Pups with 48in decks and a complete rig to do it (I have other contracts for the rig if your wondering why I'm going so big). They said that the last company that did it took 2 days, but they had huge front deck mowers, and had to weedeat and push mow alot. I have references and insurance etc., but need to bid just right. Don't wanna be to low, as I would'nt make any money, but don't want to be too high and price myself out. The contract will be for 2 years and starts in March. Please help and give me some feed back, as I am drawing blanks. I actually sit and talked with the people that accept the contracts twice, but could not get myself to ask how much as I felt like that would be unproffessional. Thanks for the help in advance, Kevin
  2. retrodog