Please Help ! Sod How Much To Charge

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Ramone, Mar 16, 2007.

1. Ramone

Ramone LawnSite Member

I'm Starting A Lawn Service , How Do I Charge To Lay Sod Do I Charge A Flat Rate Or Do I Charge By Square Footage If So What's A Good Square Footage Price For Residential Property

2. NELawnCare

NELawnCare LawnSite Member

Are you buying the materials? If so, I'd charge materials + %15 overhead + 38-cents a mile for delivery. For labor, I'd charge $35/hr per person.

I'm a newbie, so someone please shoot holes in my quote.

Thanks,

3. lurch

lurch LawnSite Member

personally i charge $50/hr for myself....thats just me though

4. jeffscap

jeffscap LawnSite Member

Measure sq footage to get material amount,use that figure and multiply it by your mark up with labor included. In turn this is your flat rate you propose to your customer. Use the search tool above this post and type in
    "CHARGE FOR SOD".
    :waving:

5. Bolo9092

Bolo9092 LawnSite Member

I can get a pallet for about $100 and I charge $100 per pallet and that on ly includes laying it not getting everything ready

6. Ramone

Ramone LawnSite Member

I'm prep'n it lay'n it and clean up

7. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member

but your new so i dont know your skill level,.... do you know how to properly prep for sod, if not, you will be doing it over and over... if you do then disregard and good luck....

8. Ecoscape01

Ecoscape01 LawnSite Senior Member