Please tell me I am doing ok...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jon99, May 1, 2003.

1. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year, I decided to go balls out, so I bought a 16 foot trailer with a Tiger Cub and Exmark Tracer, financed about $10K thru the bank and spent about $1500 on advertisements.. Results are 12 houses, 2 banks, 1 medium sized cemetery and a small village park...While it keeps me busy about a day and a half and and brings in about $500 per week and I am somewhat happy, it seems I find myself not sure if I am doing as good as I should be...

My only screw up this year was the cemetery, thought it was a 3 hour job and I bid $150, turns out it takes me about 4.5 hours...

2. Green Pastures

Green Pastures LawnSite Silver Member

Keep it up.

Put out some fliers.

You'll get jobs on referrals if you do quality work and are consistent.

Sounds like you're doing fine to me.

3. grayghost_32

grayghost_32 LawnSite Member

Cemetaries are cheap in my area.That sounds like its about average.500.00 is'nt much for that kind of equipment though.

4. LB Landscaping

LB Landscaping LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Its a good start, I wouldn't be discourgaed. Like GP said, quality work can be the best advertisment.

5. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

Yeah, sort of second guessing myself as far as equipment purchases, but too late for that... Still hoping to pick up some new accounts, should I keep on passing out fliers????

6. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic