1. Greenkeepers

Greenkeepers LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE Ohio

Hey All-

Do any of you install your own plows? this is going to be our first plow and was wondering if it is worth saving the money to do it ourselves. My bro is an aircraft mechanic so he is very mechnanical. I'm an accountant so I can count how many beers I'll drink while he does the work :)

2. slplow

slplow LawnSite Senior Member

I have installed a lot of plows. It all depends on what brand of truck. Dodge is the easiest to do, Fords not to bad,GM's are the worst to install a plow on.
  3. snow

snow Guest

this being your first plow, i'd look into getting it installed at your local dealer. even though his price may seem high compared to unassembled plows in catalogs,customer service is worth it. do you think a dealer would work on a plow that someone put together themselves. their customers usually com first. another reason is that you need an air compressor and air wrenches to get everything tigh enough so the bolts don't fall on while plowing. doing it yourself could cost more in the long run because you might not of put the plow together, and parts might wear out quicker. if you talk to your dealer, you can probably work something out.

4. John DiMartino

John DiMartino LawnSite Silver Member