Pond install question.

Discussion in 'Water Features' started by Quality SR, Aug 9, 2007.

1. Quality SR

Quality SR LawnSite Member

Hello guys, I am a newbie here. I have a question on installing a plastic pond. I have a plastic pond with 2 feed pipes and 2 return pipes coming off the pond. On the filter (Hayward) I have 1 spot for the feed and 1 spot for the return. My question is, can I use a "Y" fitting for the 2 feed pipes and the 2 return pipes coming off the pond? If not can i get away with sealing off one of each off the pond and just use the 2? Instead of 4. Also the threads off the 2 pipes from the feed is 1", the thread off the filter is 1 1/2" can i reduce this to work? Also, I am putting the pond in an area that is open. I don't want the filter and pump sticking out like a swore thumb. Can i pick up a Street Lighting Box and put the pump and filter underground? Like i said I am a newbie here, I can take pictures of what i am talking about but i don't think i can post them. Either way any help would be great. Thanks in advance Rich

2. Quality SR

If anyone has any info please let me know i am starting this project tomorrow. The pond is aprox. 5' L x 3'W x about 2 1/2'D. It is not an oval it is an odd shaped pond. Also if i can cap off 1 return and 1 feed let me know if that will work for that size pond. The person i bought it from had a smaller pond above this larger one. I don't know how he had it hooked up. Any info please let me know. Rich

3. me1223

me1223 LawnSite Member

This is a small pond so you should be fine, with only using the one in and one out, I suggest going with the two furthest apart. Pictures would help because I may have misunderstood some of that.

4. Quality SR

Thanks Me. I will try to have pictures on tomorrow. I thought about using only 1 in and 1 out, but i want to wait until i get some feed back first.

5. Quality SR

Ok here are the pictures. I am going to do one at a time and explain what is in the picture.