Pool Deck Demo Help!

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by JRSlawn, Apr 3, 2007.

1. JRSlawn

JRSlawn LawnSite Senior Member

I am working with a customer right now who wants us to relandscape the whole house she also wants us to demo her concrete pool deck build some retaining walls and do stamped concrete. My questions is how big of a pain in the butt is it going to be to remove the concrete butting up againts the pool? I can just see a slab falling in the pool or something. Let me know I have no pool deck experience.

2. PaperCutter

PaperCutter LawnSite Bronze Member

3. JRSlawn

JRSlawn LawnSite Senior Member

it looks to be vynal

4. cedarcroft

cedarcroft LawnSite Senior Member

shouldn't be much of a problem. there should be expansion joints between the coping and concrete. if you demo with a jackhammer or by hand, it should separate at the coping without a problem. just be careful and make sure you are paid right. probably wire in the concrete, if not rebar so it could take some time.

5. McKeeLand

McKeeLand LawnSite Senior Member

be care full of the bonding wire, that some times get stuck in the concrete.

6. landscapingpoolguy

landscapingpoolguy LawnSite Senior Member

There will also be steel from the pool wall supports that typically tie into the pool deck. Try not to mash them up too much either.

7. jbailey52

jbailey52 LawnSite Bronze Member

I dont know anything about the construction of pools.. but I will share a story with you...