Portablr irrigation

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by muddstopper, Nov 23, 2003.

1. muddstopper

muddstopper LawnSite Silver Member

I am thinking about building a few portable irrigation systems to us along with my hydroseeding business. The problem is I have no real knowledge of how an irrigation system should be set up. My plans are to purchase the plastic tanks, install an irrigation pump along with a manifold for the different #of zones, make little stands for the sprinkler head and mount all of this on a small trailer. I plan on obtaining water from the residents connecting by way of a water hose which will have a flow valve to cut the water off when the tank get full and will cut on when the water level gets below a certain point. My problem is what size pump should I buy, and how many gal of water will it pump, what would be the best type of manifold/timer would be best for this type situation, and what type of sprayheads would be best to use. I am thinkg at least a 6 zone system with the heads being connected to the manifold by way of regular water hose. Distances for running hose will be flexible enough to place wherever best coverage would be. Most homeowners here get their water from wells and a lot of them are only summer residents. Most seeding jobs that I do are for people that arenot around most of the time and there isnt anybody to see that the new grass is kept watered. I plan on renting these tanks to the owners after I complete the hydroseeding and also monitoring to insure that the lawns are kept watered for a sufficient time to get a good stand of grass. I hope some of you irrigation experts can help me on this. Any and all info will be appreciated. I need info concering how long each head will need to spray to properly irrigate the area,and how far each head will spray, and how much water is actually consumed at each head. All of this info will help me determine if this plan is actually feasible or not. I may not replie to any answers ri